Uncategorized

Lemon Cupcakes

I love Lemon cupcakes and when I saw this recipe in my little humming bird bakery book I knew I had to try it My lovely friend well i say friend she’s like a mum to me it so happens to be her birthday and I know she loves lemon cake so I thought they would fit the bill perfectly.

IMG_1617

So here goes

Makes 12

120g Plain flour

150g caster sugar

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

2 tbsp grated lemon zest

40g unsalted butter ( I use stork)

120ml Milk

1 Egg

For the Icing

250g Icing sugar

80g Unsalted butter (I find Lurpak is really good for icing)

2 tbsp milk

2tbsp lemon zest

Now you have your ingredients at the ready lets begin by putting the oven on to 170′ 350f Gas 3

Place your flour, sugar, baking powder, lemon zest and butter in a free standing mixer or if using a hand held mixer will do the job.

Using the paddle attachment beat on slow speed until you get a nice sandy mixture (looks like bread crumbs) make sure to scrape down the sides using a rubber spatula. then add the milk and mix for a few more seconds then add the egg and continue to beat until nice and smooth.

Spoon into your baking cups and then pop in the oven for about 20 -25 minutes Once done leave to cool on a wire rack.

For the Icing beat together the Icing sugar, butter, lemon zest and then the milk start mixing slowly then raise the speed and mix for about 5 mins and it should turn out lovely then you can pipe onto your cupcakes and decorate as you wish.

and most of enjoy them

Happy Baking

Leave a Reply

