chocolate · Cupcakes

Chocolate Cupcakes

I’ve been feeling in the need for something yummy and full of chocolate so I’ve been looking though many of my cook books and i came across this chocolate cupcake recipe out of the Hummingbird bakery (Cake Days) and Something about cupcakes Page I have only just got round to doing this chocolate cupcake and believe me it is so yummy and you can add your own topping I added my chocolate butter cream and topped it with a malteser only because i love them

this makes roughly 12-16 cupcakes

80g unsalted butter

250g caster sugar

180g plain flour

50g cocoa powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 tbsp baking powder

2 large eggs

210ml milk I use semi skimmed

Pre heat your oven to 180′ and place the paper cases in the tin ready I used pink ones that i got from my friend over atIcedjems.com she has a lovely collection of cupcake cases and lots of other great bits in her shop.

I always start with beating the sugar and butter together followed by adding the flour,cocoa, baking powder and salt the mixture will look like breadcrumbs at this stage then weigh out the milk and add your eggs and whisk together.

Make a well in the middle of your dry mix and add three quarters of the milk and eggs. mix altogether on a medium setting, scrapping down the sides along the way then add the rest of the milk and continue to mix until smooth.

Spoon into your cupcake cases and put in the oven and bake for 18-20 mins

Whilst there baking make up your butter cream everyone has there own take on this I use 450g icing sugar, 100g milk chocolate melted, 160g unsalted butter, 2 tbsp milk I use my mixer to mix all these ingredients together for about 10-15 mins till lovely and smooth.

Then when your cupcakes are cool ice and decorate as you like.

Enjoy X

IMG_1124

One thought on “Chocolate Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

