Uncategorized

My Grans Tea Bread (Bara Brith)

This was one of the first things my gran taught me to bake I used to spend a lot of time in the summer holidays with my grandparents and every year I always bake it in her memory.

Before I begin these measurements are what I always use I know there is many recipes out there the same but tweaked.

Start This the night before !!

4 cups of mixed fruit

1 cup of light brown sugar

1 cup of strong black tea

2 cups of self raising flour

1 egg

1 tbsp milk

I pick one normal tea drinking cup or mug for this and use the same one for all the ingredients.

Place the fruit,sugar and tea in a bowl and cover and leave to one side overnight.

The next morning pre heat the oven to 180’c

Line a 2 lb loaf tin and a 1 lb tin or two 1 lb tins

Add the remaining ingrediants (flour egg and milk ) to your fruit and give it a good mix once all combined add to your tin

I do find this recipe can work if you have two 1lb tins but if not I have recently been using a 2lb and a 1lb tin which works well and you don’t have too much of a dome on top and saves it burning as you would get if you place it all into one tin and you can always freeze the little one and have it for another day.

I bake mine for around 30-40 mins each oven is totally different so go with your own instincts as long as the skewer comes out clean its done

I like mine with butter but on its own works well too most of all enjoy it with a cup of Tea.

2 thoughts on “My Grans Tea Bread (Bara Brith)

Leave a Reply

