Home cooking · Home grown · Meals · Recipes

Sausage,Mixed Beans in Tomato Sauce

Evening all well I’ve spent most of the morning looking up what meals to do for the next week as I’m trying to keep up with meal planning throughout the summer holidays I can say its been challenge as we’ve been really busy with going away on weekend trips and outings so I’m trying to restore some normality if possible.

On my weekly trip to Asda with a shopping list in hand I managed to get a few things on the cheap there was chosen for you sausages Louisiana chilli pork sausages 6 for £2.00 which I thought was not bad and would go further if cut up in a rice dish so thats what Ive done I mixed it up a bit with these good for you mixed beans in tomato sauce as well that were only 62p so a cheap meal for the start of the week

IMG_2260

You will need

6 chilli and pork sausages

1 tin of mixed beans in tomato sauce

1 onion chopped

1 tin of tomatoes chopped or homemade tomato sauce if you have any

1 veg stock cube mixed in half paint of water

200g normal white rice

splash of olive oil

Begin by cooking your sausages in the oven I do mine at 180′ for 25 mins or until golden and cooked through.

then in a big pan on the stove heat some olive oil and fry of your onions till they soften then add your stock cube and water along with the rice mix altogether until coated then add the mixed beans along with the juice from the tin and tomatoes give it all a good stir and allow to simmer until the rice is cooked keep checking so the rice does not stick to the bottom of the pan if you need more water add a little at a time.

Once the sausages and the rice is are cooked take the sausages out of the oven and when they have cooled a little cut them up and place them with the rice and sauce and mix altogether and there you have it serve with bread if you like but my lot enjoyed it without.

This was a really cheap meal for us as I only had to buy the sausages and beans because I’ve always got onions and stock cubes and I love to keep stocked up on rice as you can use it with most dishes if your budget is low that week.

This meal went down really well with my hungry lot it easily served the 4 of us.

Leave a Reply

