Uncategorized

Lemon Loaves with cherries

Nothing beats lemon loaf and these are truly my favourite, I love making them as they are so quick and easy and great for picnics to lunch boxes, also great as you can add cherries, raspberries or even blueberries to the mix to vary it up. These also freeze really well so if you’re feeling organised your on a winner.

Its been a bit of a week with the kids on half term so I wanted something easy and quick for them and for me as I never seem to sit still long enough whilst they are off and it’s a great pick me up with a cuppa.

IMG_1357

8 oz soft butter

10 oz self raising flour

1 level tsp baking powder

8 oz caster sugar

4 large eggs

4 tbsp milk

1 lemon grated

1tbsp chopped lemon vebena

2oz cherries I used frozen ones but you can use whichever you like

For the topping 

1tbsp lemon juice

3oz granulated sugar

Start by pre heating the oven to 180′c, and line and grease two 1 lb loaf tins,

Measure out all your ingredients into a bowl leaving out the cherries and lemon for the time being, and mix altogether until you have a smooth cake batter then add your grated lemon and lemon verbena if using and then pour into your prepared tins then I placed my cherries into my loaves pushing them in slightly, then put them into the oven for around 30 mins or until the cake is done if it starts to catch on top place some foil on top to prevent it burning.

Whilst the loaf is cooking make up the lemon crunch topping by adding the lemon juice and sugar together and mix well.

When they come out I place a few holes along the top of them and then pour the crunchy lemon mix all over so it seeps into the loaves for extra lemon taste and keeps them really moist.

Enjoy X

Leave a Reply

