Claire's Cosy Little Home

Smokey Sausage Casserole

This is another take on the yummy sausage casserole.

I found this version in the Good Food Magazine I have it delivered to my door now which makes it so much easier and exciting when it drops through the letter box.

I found this recipe very easy and so tasty and a great mid week dinner for the family I have adapted it a bit so it fits with my hungry lot.

Ingredients

1 tbsp oil

1 onion chopped

1 garlic cloves crushed

1 large celery stick finely chopped

2 peppers I use red pepper and a green cut into chunks

I used 10 pork sausages as this was for 4 of us,

1 tsp smoked paprika

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2tsp chilli flakes

2 x 400g cans of chopped tomatoes

400g can of cannellini beans

250g fresh spinach Start by putting the oil in a hot pan and cook the onions on a medium heat gently till nice and soft, Tip the garlic, peppers and celery and give everything a good stir for 5 mins.

Turn the heat up high and add the sausages to the pan I did mine in batches only because my pan was not big enough.

Brown the sausages all over then turn the heat down to a medium heat and add the cumin,paprika and chilli along with a good pinch of salt and pepper, stir altogether so all the spices coat all the vegetables and sausages.

IMG_3276

 

Now its time to add the chopped tomatoes and juice along with half a tin of hot water using the juices left in the tin. Mix altogether and cover with a lid and simmer gently for 40 mins. stirring every now and then. IMG_3277

For the last 5 mins pour in the beans and spinach and stir thorough so they heat through.

I served mine with brown rice which was a good alternative to mash potatoes.

IMG_3280

If you enjoy reading my recipes make sure you sign up to get my latest blog posts via email.

Love Claire x

Leave a Reply

