Claire's Cosy Little Home

Meet My Girls

Hello

Ive finally gone and got Chickens, it’s only taken me 6 years to convince my husband that it would be a good idea. I’ve done my crazy happy dance. We went and got the girls on Sunday 9th April 2017

Now for the introduction

From Left Ruby, Bluebell, Rosie and Daisy

 

IMG_6107

The hen house in the chicken run we made.

They settled really well and began laying eggs the very next day which has continued…

IMG_9742

They have all got their own personality, and its been really good watching them gain more confidence, They love meal worms and I often go out and turn the soil so they can scratch about for the worms.

Im feeding them layers pellets and using mixed corn as a treat along with the meal worms. My friend gave me a massive tub of oyster shell, apart from that it seems they can pretty much enjoy a lot of the kitchen scraps along with unlimited greens which is handy.

A bit on the coop, We have surrounded the area with chicken wire and then strong bird netting for the top, its still a working progress as I want to get a top to go onto the whole area to shelter from rain. Ive even had ideas on changing the house to a shed and attaching that to the coop. Next project shh… thought I would take it one step at a time as I’m a newbie to chicken keeping.

I find it so rewarding watching them scratch about looking for worms and insects and just doing what they do, and then they provide these yummy eggs for us and all their poo goes in the compost bin it’s a Win Win.

IMG_9769

I hope I haven’t bored you too much.

And this is the reason why I have not been blogging much lately.

Bye for now

Claire xx

2 thoughts on “Meet My Girls

Leave a Reply

